• Welcome to Mustang7G!

If you're joining us from Mustang6G, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on Mustang6G as of March 10, 2021 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Bikeman315

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT/CS
I'm not an engineer, so please excuse my ignorance when I ask this question...

But in theory, couldn't they offer a "mini-spare" in a size that would clear the brembos?
Yes they could, but they don’t. Guess it’s not worth the cost for the low volume.
Sponsored

dfwford

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 Ford Mustang GT Premium
Yes they could, but they don’t. Guess it’s not worth the cost for the low volume.
That's what I figured.

It just doesn't make sense to me from the standpoint of a consumer, in that I'm paying several thousand dollars more to purchase an option package that will include a more inferior feature (a tire repair kit vs. an actual mini spare) than a standard GT.

But it is what it is.

friscoaggie

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Expedition, Rogue, Cruze, '54 F-100, 24 Mustang DH
So new to cars with potentially no spares, what are the recommendations?

Bikeman315

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT/CS
That's what I figured.

It just doesn't make sense to me from the standpoint of a consumer, in that I'm paying several thousand dollars more to purchase an option package that will include a more inferior feature (a tire repair kit vs. an actual mini spare) than a standard GT.

But it is what it is.
Well for the entire run of the S550 the spare was optional so there was no difference. I guess Ford figures if you can afford the PP you can afford the spare. 🤭

Bikeman315

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mustang GT/CS

Mustang8

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 Mustang GT
That's what I figured.

But it is what it is.
It could also be that the spare wouldn't fit in the spare tire space in the trunk.

wanted33