• Welcome to Mustang7G!

If you're joining us from Mustang6G, then you may already have an account here!

As long as you were registered on Mustang6G as of March 10, 2021 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Dash graphics - Pay per download - Is it possible / plausible?

Would you spend money for different branded dash downloads?

• Total voters

goodlettjr

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 Mustang GT
While I would like to think that Ford will give us some sort of long term support, they typically don't do that. Outside of warranty and OTA updates, they will probably be MIA. With that being said, I think that a sustainable model would be to open up the dashboard graphics for people developing their own looks and graphics. I'm not a developer, but I have some ideas on how it may or may not work. In my mind, license the graphics just like apparel and merchandise. Ford doesn't have the financial burden of development and gets some cash on the other with the licensing. They do it on patented parts all the time. Racor filter makes the 6.0L and 6.4L oil and fuel filters. They sell them to other companies (not Motorcraft) and make royalties off the sale.

What would this look like?

• Get certified by Ford
  • Develop all the dashboards you can make
  • Submit it to Ford through their process
  • Sells on the Fordpass app, Ford website, or through Ford performance.
  • Customer pays Ford then Ford pays the developer.
Market price would feel right at $10-$15 a download.